in

Facebook: How to temporarily deactivate my account on the social network?

Do you want to get away from Facebook for a while without having to delete your account? Then you must know the trick to deactivate it temporarily.

Fb 3
If you want to deactivate your Facebook account, no third-party app is necessary. Photo: Teknófilo

Most users log into Facebook every day, update statuses, upload photos, and comment on their friends’ pages. If you feel that you are no longer a frequent user or if you will not be able to access your account for a while, you have options to keep it inactive. Deactivation allows you to temporarily refrain from using your account with the option to return and regain access to your profile and content.

You should also know that deactivation is a process that has immediate full effect. Your profile and all associated content will disappear from Facebook instantly once your account has been deactivated. Photos, videos, status updates, links, and questions that you are tagged in will no longer display your name.

Deactivate a Facebook account step by step

If you want to deactivate your Facebook account, no third-party app is necessary; you just have to follow the following steps:

  • In your main profile, click on the downward-pointing arrow at the top right of the interface.
  • Select ‘settings and privacy’ and click on ‘settings’.
  • Click on ‘your Facebook information’ in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a page with the new page experience, click privacy and then ‘your Facebook information’.
  • Click on ‘deactivation and deletion’.
  • Choose ‘deactivate account’, click ‘continue with account deactivation’, and follow the instructions to confirm.

Likewise, you should consider that when you temporarily deactivate your Facebook account, the following will happen:

  • No one else will be able to see your profile
  • Some information (such as messages you sent to friends) may still be visible
  • Your friends may still see your name on their friends’ list. Only your contacts can see it and only in your friends’ list.
  • Group admins may still see your posts, your comments, and your name.
  • You will not be able to use your Facebook account to access your Oculus products or information.
  • Pages that only you control will also be disabled. If a page is disabled, people won’t be able to see or find it when they search for it. If you don’t want it to be deactivated, you can give someone else full control of the page.

As is known, the Facebook account is connected to that of Facebook Messenger, but this will not be affected by the deactivation of your account on the social network, since you will be allowed the following:

  • You can chat with friends on Messenger.
  • Your Facebook profile photo will continue to appear in Messenger conversations.
  • Other people will be able to look for you to send you a message.

You find hidden messages on Facebook

When people who are not your friends on Facebook send you a message, it is placed in a special folder. Sometimes this can lead you to miss an important message because Messenger doesn’t always alert you.

To find the folder, go to the Facebook Messenger app home page, tap the Menu icon, and then Message Requests.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Written by Christina d'souza

    Proofreader, editor, journalist. I have been doing my favourite thing for more than six years.

    Martin 1

    Claudia Martín highlights her charms with a flirty swimsuit in a pool

    Jenny E1637132884820

    Jenny 69 shows her great charms with a string swimsuit