Dhoni’s CSK beats LSG by 12 runs thanks to Gaikwad, Conway, and Ali in the TATA IPL 2023


Facing a massive 218-run goal set by MS Dhoni‘s Chennai Super Kings in the TATA IPL 2023, KL Rahul’s squad could only manage 205 runs and lost by 12 runs on 3 April at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai.

After losing the toss at home, CSK hitters gave the club an explosive start from the start and maintained a consistent run rate of more than 10. Ruturaj Gaikwad (57), Devon Conway (47), Shivam Dube (27) and Ambati Rayudu (27) combined for 217 runs. Finally, Dhoni’s successive sixes in the penultimate over enthralled the fans.


CSK vs LSG IPL 2023: Gaikwad, Ali drive CSK to 12 runs victory over LSG |  Mint

Mark Wood and Ravi Bishnoi each took three wickets for the LSG team, while Avesh Khan took one.

But, KL Rahul’s LSG were not far behind, and opener Kyle Mayers (53) got the team off to a flying start. Though wickets continued to fall, the run rate remained above 10, allowing the following batters to keep Dhoni’s CSK on edge. After Mooen Ali was introduced, the LSG’s batting collapsed, and wickets began to fall like a pack of cards.


IPL 2023: Gaikwad, Conway power CSK to 217/7 against LSG | Cricket News -  Times of India

Despite some strong shots from Nicholas Pooran (32) and Marcus Stoinis (21), LSG was unable to overcome the 218-run distance. LSG needed 28 runs in the last over to win.

KL Rahul’s team scored only 205/7 runs in 20 overs, losing by 12 runs to CSK. Moeen Ali grabbed four wickets for CSK, Tushar Deshpande took two, and Mitchell Santner took one.

Here’s the final scorecard:

CSK Batting:

Ambati Rayudu* 27(13)

Mitchell Santner* 1(1)

MS Dhoni 12(3)

Ravindra Jadeja 3(6)

Ben Stokes 8(8)

Moeen Ali 19(13)

Shivam Dube 27(16)

Devon Conway 47(29)

Ruturaj Gaikwad 57(31)


IPL 2023: Moeen, Deshpande, Santner Star as Chennai beat Lucknow by 12 Runs


Did not bat:

Deepak Chahar

Rajvardhan Hangargekar


LSG Bowling:

Kyle Mayers 0/16(2)

Avesh Khan 1/39(3)

Krunal Pandya 0/21(2)

Krishnappa Gowtham 0/20(1)

Mark Wood 3/49(4)

Yash Thakur 0/36(4)

Ravi Bishnoi 3/28(4)


IPL 2023: Moeen, Deshpande, Santner Star as Chennai beat Lucknow by 12 Runs


LSG Batting:

Krishnappa Gowtham* 17(11)

Mark Wood* 4(2)

Ayush Badoni 23(18)

Nicholas Pooran 32(18)

Marcus Stoinis 21(18)

Krunal Pandya 9(9)

KL Rahul 19(13)

Deepak Hooda 2(6)

Kyle Mayers 53(22)


IPL 2023: Shubman's 63 Helps Gujarat Pull Off 5 Wicket Win Over CSK in  Opener


Did not bat:

Yash Thakur

Ravi Bishnoi


CSK Bowling:

Deepak Chahar 0/55(4)

Ben Stokes 0/18(1)

Tushar Deshpande 2/45(4)

Moeen Ali 4/25(4)

Mitchell Santner 1/21(4)

Rajvardhan Hangargekar 0/24(2)

Ravindra Jadeja 0/14(1)

What do you think?

Written by Sarah Joseph

Hi, fellow readers! So glad you found my little writing nook on the internet. I am a freelance writer, occasionally moonlighting as a digital marketer as well. I love to read, mostly focusing on high-fantasy and thrillers. Here, on Geekybar, I share my thoughts and views on breaking and recent news form all around the world. Oh, and I LOVE covering all the celeb gossips so stick around for some really interesting stuff!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

OnePlus Nord CE

How to Watch the OnePlus Nord CE 3 Lite 5G and Nord Buds 2 Launch Event Live Online

MS Dhoni

Cut back on unnecessary deliveries or you’ll be playing under a new captain. Mahendra Dhoni issues a warning to the CSK bowlers