DeBose, Kotsur, and Eilish are a few of the Academy’s 397 invited visitors


Recent Oscar winners Ariana DeBose, Troy Kotsur, and Billie Eilish are among 397 people invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The organization that awards the Oscars said Tuesday that 44% of the 2022 group identify as women, 50% come from outside the United States, and 37% from underrepresented racial and ethnic communities. If the guests accept, which the majority do, they will be able to vote in the 95th Academy Awards.

This year’s guest stars include Anya Taylor-Joy, Jessie Buckley, Gaby Hoffman, Robin de Jesús from “tick, tick…BOOM!”, Olga Merediz from ” In the Heights ” (“In the neighborhood”), the “Belfast” stars Jamie Dornan and Caitríona Balfe, as well as Jesse Plemons and Kodi Smit-McPhee, both from ” The Power of the Dog .” There is also an important international presence, with invitations for the Iranian Amir Jadidi from “A Hero” (“A hero”), the Norwegian Renate Reinsve from ” The Worst Person in the World ” (“The worst person in the world”), the Frenchman Vincent London from “Titane”,

Among the directors on the list are Andrew Ahn from “Fire Island” (“Pride and Seduction”), the Spaniard Mariano Barroso from “All Women”, Reinaldo Marcus Green from “King Richard” (” King Richard: A Winning Family” ), Mary Lambert from “Pet Sematary II” (“Pet Cemetery II”), Amy Seimetz from “She Dies Tomorrow” and Isabel Sandoval from “Lingua Franca”. Several people, including “Flee” director Jonas Poher Rasmussen, “Drive My Car” writer-director Ryusuke Hamaguchi, and ” CODA ” writer-director Sian Heder, were invited to join various branches, but they must choose only one when accepted.

In the musical branch, Eilish‘s brother, Finneas O’Connell, along with Dan Romer from “Luca” and Nathan Johnson from “Knives Out” (“Between knives and secrets”) are also invited. And guests from the script branch include Jeremy O. Harris of “Zola,” Adele Lim of “Crazy Rich Asians” (“Crazy Rich Asians”), Alex Ross Perry of “Listen Up Philip” (“Analyzing Philip”), Jon Spaihts from “Dune” (” Dune “) and Craig Mazin from “The Hangover Part II” (“What Happened Yesterday? Part II”). Each year, the Academy invites a new group of entertainment professionals to join the organization. Although an Oscar nomination is not a requirement, it is often a starting point. The 2022 guest pool, for example, includes 71 Oscar nominees and 15 winners.

The Academy has been striving for years to diversify its ranks. If all of this year’s guests accept, 34% of its members will be women, 19% from an underrepresented community, and 23% from outside the United States.

The 95th annual Academy Awards will be held on March 12, 2023, in Los Angeles.

What do you think?

Written by Rachita Salian


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Lele Pons

Lele Pons reveals how she went from fat to fit in only two months

Jorge Campos

The new Barbie video demonstrates that Jorge Campos was a fashion genius