For the past few weeks, WhatsApp has been displaying a notification that provides information about the update. But “after several weeks, the reminder will become persistent,” the service statement said.
And from that moment on, access to WhatsApp functions will be limited until the user accepts the updates. But this will not happen to all users at the same time.
If you don’t accept the updates:
* You will not be able to access your chat list, but you will be able to answer calls and video calls;
* After a few weeks of limited functionality, you will not be able to receive calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.
At the same time, the company assured that it will be possible to export the chats.
In addition, WhatsApp promised that it will not delete the accounts of users who do not accept the update, but will apply the policy related to inactive users that states that accounts “are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity.”
The change in WhatsApp privacy policies, announced earlier this year, sparked a wave of criticism and outrage from users. So the company decided to postpone the implementation of the conditions until May 15.
The update includes changes related to business messaging on WhatsApp that will use Facebook’s hosting service.
The app’s founder, Pável Dúrov, commented that the secret of the popularity of his service lies in “respecting its users.”